Monday, January 7, 2008

Book Review: BAD KITTY by Michele Jaffe

Bad Kitty by Michele Jaffe

BAD KITTY is the story of Jasmine Callihan, amateur super sleuth and trouble magnet extraordinaire. While on vacation with her family in Las Vegas, all she wants to do is lounge around by the pool, check out the cute guy she saw at the snack hut, and, most of all, be a Model Daughter and prove to her dad that she can stay out of trouble. This lasts for all of about five minutes, until a little boy and his three-legged cat entangle her, "literally," in a murder mystery.

Add in a famous fashion model (who happens to be the little boy's mother), an intimidating bodyguard, an insane killer, threatening messages, limo rides, the Evil Hench Twins (Jas' cousin Alyson and her best friend, Veronique), and even jail time, and you have one crazy adventure. Not to mention that Jack, the cute snack hut guy that Jas can't seem to stop thinking about, may be more than he appears. Pretty soon Jas' best friends Roxy, Tom, and Polly also crash the vacation, bringing with them a handy Bedazzler and tons of hilarious ideas to aid (and hinder) Jas in her investigation.

BAD KITTY is a fantastic read, and one you might not want to read in public if you tend to laugh while reading. Footnotes sprinkled throughout every chapter act as conversations between Jas and her friends, correcting and adding to the story, and by the end of the book, Jas has come up with sixty hilarious "Little Life Lessons" that everyone should know. For example, "Little Life Lesson 12: If you have your cousin and her friend stand out the sunroof of your limo to give you navigational instructions, be sure that they aren't facing backward to wave at the cute guys in the Porsche behind you when they tell you to go left or right."

The characters are fun and entertaining, the plot hysterical, and you can't help but be swept along with Jas and her friends for the ride. This will definitely appeal to fans of authors like Meg Cabot and Louise Rennison, and for readers who are already fans of the book, Michele Jaffe is hard at work on the sequel.

So hurry to your nearest bookstore and pick up a copy of BAD KITTY. Believe me, it's totally Visa! (Oh, go read the book and you'll understand!)

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog and taking the time to tell me what you think! I treasure every single comment and I'll do my best to visit your blog in return. :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...